U.S. drivers spend more than $12 billion each year for uninsured motorists coverage, which is mandated by most states, including Maryland. The Insurance Research Council (IRC) says drivers typically pay an extra $70 a year to protect themselves from people who don’t have insurance.
That amount doesn’t include the cost of taking uninsured motorists to court to recoup expenses for injuries or property damage. The latest statistics show 13% of all drivers in the U.S. do not have car insurance. Florida is first on the list at 26.7%, while Maryland is No. 23 at 12.4%.
Auto insurance minimum coverages for Maryland drivers
State law mandates certain types of auto insurance, including minimum coverages:
- Bodily injury liability: Mandatory – $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: Mandatory – $15,000
- Personal injury protection: Mandatory, but not for all drivers included in policy – $2,500
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: Mandatory – $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist damage liability: Mandatory – $15,000
Uninsured drivers face penalties
Driving without insurance in Maryland is a misdemeanor offense that brings a $1,000 fine, up to a year in jail and five points on a person’s driving record. A second conviction doubles both the fine and possible jail time as well as adding another five points.
However, the highest cost is usually felt by the person who is injured in a crash involving an uninsured or underinsured driver. That’s why it’s vital to contact a personal injury attorney here in Maryland who will help you receive the compensation you are owed.